liberalism/progressivism and happiness

…….

…………………

Liberals/progressives are forever unhappy.  They just cannot be satisfied without being mad and victimized.

Conservative women are happier than conservative men who are happier than liberal/progressive women who are happier than liberal/progressive men, who are miserable all the time and proud of it.  This is per social scientists is the University of Chicago’s General Social Survey, a survey of Americans conducted since 1972. They are considered the scholarly gold standard for understanding social phenomena.

My experience is that for the most part – so in the aggregate – liberals/progressives are forever angry, mad, unhappy, bitter, at war with non-liberals/progressives, and committed to making conservatives also angry, mad, unhappy, and bitter.  It doesn’t work, but I have this sneaking suspicion that, if it did work, THAT would make liberals/progressives happy.

Since liberalism/progressivism is about making everything “fair”, but in the real world hurts both those from whom they take and those to whom they give even more, it is a dadgum shame and sucks that the world has liberals/progressives.

……………….

12 Comments

Filed under culture, economics, philosophy, politics

12 responses to “liberalism/progressivism and happiness

  1. I think your assumption is based on a flaw in methodology Dr. P. If you are observing the behavior of people directly whose views disagree with yours, they will obviously appear less happy because you are engaged in a conflict with them! If you are talking about op-ed writers or pundits, they won’t have a topic if there’s no complaint. That one cuts both ways.

    In my (equally unscientific) experience, people who decide to be happy are happy. Part of deciding to be happy is being satisfied with “enough”, and not being seduced by a constant desire for “more”. Politics doesn’t come close to determining it, especially compared to things like being in a supportive relationship with a significant other, and having enough to eat, and a job you enjoy performing.

    • I infer, Invisible Mikey, that you must be challenging the methodology of the social scientists at the University of Chicago’s General Social Survey, a survey of Americans conducted since 1972. They are considered the scholarly gold standard for understanding social phenomena.

      In addition to my citing my observations, I cited their biennial studies of now 40+ years. I’m not certain that you’re “equally unscientific experience” matches their methodology.

      Just sayin’.

      • Oh, I wouldn’t know about gold standards in the non-hard sciences. My training’s in physics, waveform theory and patient care. Some of the doctors I work with don’t even accept that social science IS science, but I’m willing to accept the discipline to a degree. Just not to the degree of something peer-reviewed and replicable by experiment. Thanks for your reply.

      • I think that following your opening line of your first post, Invisible Mikey, you’re now tap dancing to obfuscate. But, I assure you, such attempts won’t temper my happiness one iota.

    • “In my (equally unscientific) experience, people who decide to be happy are happy. Part of deciding to be happy is being satisfied with ‘enough’, and not being seduced by a constant desire for ‘more’.”

      Actually proving the point that DrP and the UC people make. Lefties are NEVER “satisfied with ‘enough'”. They ALWAYS want more, especially more of other people’s stuff. They want it for themselves, and they want it to spread around to those THEY decide are “deserving”.

      They hate the “unfairness” that some people have managed to accumulate wealth. So they want to “level the playing field” by taking that wealth away, and spreading it around, to themselves and others.

      They believe the Constitution guarantees equality of outcome, instead of opportunity.

      There are a lot of other ways the lefties make themselves crazy, but I’m limiting this reply to the one specific issue you raised.

  2. “… and sucks that the world has liberals/progressives.”

    Man… truer words were never written.

  3. Speaking as a happy lefty, which is apparently an impossibility – yet here I am – I just don’t believe political affiliation determines happiness. i know there’s unfairness in the world, but I don’t obsess about the need to correct it all overnight. I take direct actions that fit my set of skills to fix problems I can affect. I raise service dogs, and work at an Urgent Care clinic. And I don’t estimate wealth by material items owned or income. Health, comity and time to enjoy them are wealth. All you need is “enough”, and if you choose to live in a smaller space closer to work and reuse and recycle more, it costs less to achieve. My ambitions have been toward balance, moderation, a middle path in my personal life. Voluntary simplicity has made my family happier. But there are happy people with a lot of stuff, and happy people who own little. It’s a personal choice! Everyone here deserves to be happy, and could be, regardless of whether we vote the same way.

    • Well, geez, Invisible Mikey, after as a scientist you look at the findings of the researchers, it would seem to be that a reasonable man would understand that they were aggregate. And after I say, “My experience is that for the most part – so in the aggregate – liberals/progressives are forever . . . ” a reasonable man would NOT say, “Speaking as a happy lefty, which is apparently an impossibility . . . ”

      Thereinafter, we’re getting but progressive/liberal nonsense. “Everyone here deserves to be happy”? Deserves? Each human being has right to PURSUE happiness, Invisible Mikey, not to have it DELIVERED, say from Domino’s.

  4. CW

    I think you hit the nail on the head in all respects, drpete, particularly with the last sentence of your post.

    Someone should do a study on the relative happiness or unhappiness of thieves, liars and cheats compared to honest people. I’m guessing that thieves, liars and cheats will be less happy than honest folks, and I don’t think anyone on this side of the aisle will be surprised by the coincidence.

    Happy new year!

  5. CW was probably referring to the thieves, liars, and cheats in Congress and it’s obvious that they’re never happy unless they’re doing the dirty deed to us, the taxpayers.

    For me, I’m pretty happy. By this time in my life, I’ve either recognized (or been shown) my weaknesses and strengths and a lot of being content is accepting the conditions under which we live our lives. Now that doesn’t mean that we (I) shouldn’t always strive to better ourselves, just making headway towards a goal is satisfying, so I can see how we non-liberals achieve some enjoyment out of seeing our misguided opponents find themselves in a dilemma of their own making, like “You can keep …,” the Obamacare fiasco, etc. I do enjoy watching Obama squirm and sputter.

    But, the thing that would really make ME happy will be to win the Senate, increase our numbers in the House, and IMPEACH Obama.

    Wishing you and yours a very safe, prosperous, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    • Now that I’ve retired, garnet92, what I wish for, albeit unconfidently, is that the U.S. Government won’t confiscate all of my financial assets, thus returning me to the poverty from which I extricated myself long ago. I am aware that said wish is both racist and selfish. So be it.

      Happy New Year indeed!

Leave a Reply

